Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bhagavad Gita of Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda

Bhagavad Gita of Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda

Namaste,

has anyone of you read the Bhagavad Gita of Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda, entitled God Talks With Arjuna? Would you recommend it?

Thanks for your answers.

Re: Bhagavad Gita of Sri Sri Paramahansa Yogananda

Namaste,

A search of the forum for Bhagwad Gita should yield the numerous translations available, many online. Since every swami/guru/master gives a personal touch to the translation, it is up to you to decide which one to read. Generally, the translation by Gita Press is recommended more often than others as it sticks to the spirit of the message without injecting personal flavors. Hope that helps.

BTW, how long have you been reading/studying Hindu philosophy/theology and have you read any BG translations before?

Pranam

Namaste,

well, I know that I’m an amateur , but I’ve been interested in Hinduism for 16 years now. I started with a translation in my native language, German, then I read Prabhupada’s “Bhagavad Gita As It is” (German and English), then I sought for a copy of Adi Shankara’s Bhagavad Gita commentary (English) because I wanted to know what was about those so-called “mayavadis”. I also read the translation and commentary of Swami Rama which gives a lot of psychological interpretation. As for Paramahansa Yogananda, I read his “Autobiography of a yogi” which was a bit too mystical for my taste. His Bhagavad Gita commentary comes in 2 volumes and is not cheap, so I wondered whether some would recommend it.

Namaste,

Quote Originally Posted by Cosinuskurve View Post
    ....I wondered whether some would recommend it.