Thread: Para Mukti,Pada/Krama Mukti-Two Types of Mukthi

Para Mukti,Pada/Krama Mukti-Two Types of Mukthi

Namaste,

In the system I am studying there is an interesting concept of two varieties of Mukti(realization):

1.Para (Ultimate/Eternal) Mukti
    2.Pada/Krama (Graded/Stages) Mukti.

Para is Final whereas a Jiva that has attained Pada/Krama Mukti is reborn again.

The Siddhanta Sampradaya has a
    n intricate theory with types of mukti,margas(path) to follow and the results.It is rather big but I will summarize it.

Para Mukti is attained only through Gnana Marga,which causes Saayujya.

In contrast Dasa,Putra & Saha(Sakha?) margas lead to Saalokya,Saamipya and Saarupya and all these result in a temporary or intermediate liberation.

Pada Mukti is similar to attaining a particular loka,enjoying the fruits of Punya Karmas and upon exhaustion,re-birth is inevitable.

I read once that a concept similar to Krama Mukti is found in the Vedas itself(probably in the Rig Veda where Pitrus(manes) and
    afterlife effects of various Yajnas are discussed).
    These beliefs maybe found in the Upanishads as well.

I would like to know about the presence of these ideas in the Sruti,could any members point of in which Upanishads(and Veda Mantras) these concepts(types of Mukti,Saalokya,Saayujya etc.,the 4 Margas) are found?
    He dances in the golden hall of Chidambaram, Let us worship His rosy anklet girt Feet.

Re: Para Mukti,Pada/Krama Mukti-Two Types of Mukthi

Namaste,

As far as I know Krama-mukti is simply the progressive effort towards liberation whereas Sadyomukti is the processless immediate experience of Brahman.

Yajurveda 40.14: One who clearly understands the concept the Vidya (Knowledge) as well as Avidya, guides himself accordingly through actions from bondage of death to ultimate bliss of Mukti.

Srimad-Bhagavatam (Bhagavata Purana) 3.29.13:
    salokya-sarsti-samipya-
    sarupyaikatvam apy uta
    diyamanam na grhnanti
    vina mat-sevanam janah