Thread: Namaste, introductions, a question.

1. Namaste, introductions, a question.

Hello, my name is Nathaniel, and I have just recently been inspired by a staggering chain of events to investigate and explore God in new ways. I have a had s copy of the Bhagavad Gita As It Is for awhile, but now i am studying it earnestly. I find it to be the most logical and honest approach to self-realization thus far. Commentary by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada is immensely helpful, however, he repeatedly states that in order to hope to seek Krsna Consciousness or to understand the Gita fully, I need to study under a spiritual master. I wonder if there are some means to provide for seekinf and communicating to spiritual teachers via the internet. I do desire to learn from domeone who is learned in the Gita, but the local population is decidedly mostly non-Hindu, Protestant Christian in fact.

Re: Namaste, introductions, a question.

Pranams.

A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada is the founder of ISCKON, which is a branch of Hinduism, in its Gaudya Vaishnava Sampradaya aspect.

You can find many people in the internet with knowledge of the Bhagavad Gita, some of them are in tune with Prabhupada's teachings but others don't agree with his translation and commentary of the text.

ISCKON adheres to the traditional system of parampara, or disciple sucession, in which teachings upheld by scriptures are handed down from master to disciple, generation after generation.

I don't know any ISCKON certified teacher who teaches through the internet, but many of them have books published, and some of them you can get on the internet.

If you want to have more knowledge about ISCKON teachings you can read such books. But ISCKON is a worldwide organization and maybe there is some location near you where you can find them in person.