Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Questions on Karma

Questions on Karma

Namaste All,
    After a long break here is my post. I have the following questions on Karma.

In karma - the action is important or volition/intention is important? Which one leads to what? Like if my volition is good but action is bad will I accrue bad karma or vice versa?

Karma seems very elusive. Is it the same as Buddha taught - 'as you sow shall you reap'?

Which schools of Indian philosophy refute karma (I forgot..read somewhere)? In such cases how do they explain creation or death and rebirth? (assuming they believe in those things)

This might seem puny for many here but requesting answers from experts

Thanks
    ॐ महेश्वराय नमः

|| Om Namo Bhagavate Rudraya ||

Hara Hara Mahadeva Shambo Shankara

Re: Questions on Karma

Namaste,

I am not an expert member but thought I will give a reference here:

Reference to karma from a Jyotish group: From http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sohamsa/message/28132 :

"Valmiki Ramayana cleanly laid down the dictum several times in the text
    that the events in the native's life are the outcome four factors-
    1. Vidhata 2. Prarabdha 3. Daiva -unknown causes ( refer sloka 14 ch 7 and
    . sloka 14 of ch 18 of Gita) 4. Kala.
    When Shri Lakshman ji was very angry on his father on 14 years of Vanvas,
    Shri Rama explained in one full chapter in Valmiki Ramayana , that problems
    arising out from Daivya are to be endured only.
    This concept explained in very balanced manner in Chapter 18 sloka 14 of Gita.
    In Astrology we can ascertain Prarabdha only from birth chart.
    Even there are many Rajyoga's where it is clearly said that this
    yoga will make person to live in kingly manner if born in kings
    family."

From the above, we know that the above mentioned four factors come into play in determining the karma of an individual.
    Last edited by Viraja; 29 January 2013 at 12:21 PM.