Thread: Jnaneshwar Maharaj Quotes

Jnaneshwar Maharaj Quotes

Hari Om!

Ran across "The Nectar of Self-Awareness" by Jnaneshwar Maharaj and although just into the beginning pages, found some meaningful passages that I'd like to submit.

Chapter 1, #62 "A man comes to himself
    When he wakes from sleep.
    Likewise, I have perceived the God and Goddess
    By waking from my ego."
    #63 "When salt dissolves,
    It becomes one with the ocean;
    When my ego dissolved,
    I became one with Shiva and Shakti"

I don't know what to say except simply beautiful, deeply meaningful and humbling.

I'm currently studying in chapter 2 of the Bhagavad Gita where Krishna is showing Arjuna his state of mind so that he may lead him to a better state. Somehow I feel like these verses are the bridge from where one stands in delusion to where one must to attain enlightenment. My mind is peaceful and calm as I read these verses.

Comments from anyone else would be appreciated, both on the quotes or on Jnaneshwar Maharaj as well. I know so little of him.

Om Namah Sivaya!

Re: Jnaneshwar Maharaj Quotes

Namaste C.Smith,

Lovely passage. Thanks for sharing it with us. I agree that reading such affirmations from great teachers and spiritual seekers have the capacity to fill their readers and listeners with a great sense of reassurance.

Om namah Shivaya
    "Watch your thoughts, they become words.
    Watch your words, they become actions.
    Watch your actions, they become habits.
    Watch your habits, they become your character.
    Watch your character, it becomes your destiny."

ॐ गं गणपतये नमः
    Om Gam Ganapataye namah

लोकाः समस्ताः सुखिनो भवन्तु ।
    Lokaah SamastaaH Sukhino Bhavantu

Re: Jnaneshwar Maharaj Quotes

Namaste