Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Searching for my path and for some answers

Searching for my path and for some answers

Namaste,
    as a newbie, I would like to post a reason why I am here. The reason is also a question I have been asking myself lately very intensively- what is my path and where do I belong.

My first contact with hinduism happened when I was a child; only thing I remember from that early period was hearing Om Namah Shivaya mantra. I recalled that memory about a month ago when I attended Kirtan night by Haidakhan Babaji followers when I had beautiful heart opening while chanting Om Namah Shivaya mantra. Second contact was few years later when I ended up on crystal healing and the man who was working as a therapist was very inclined to hindu philosophy- he used all the sanskrt terms and played me Krsna Vision casette during healing sessions. I was 12 years old at that time.

As I enjoyed whole atmosphere on Kirtan and was able to relax and surrender to those beautiful, deep melodies, I continued attending Kirtan events which luckily happen quite often here where I live. Some of them were led by ISKCON followers and I found them very beautiful and inspiring.

Before my first physical connection to people who take part in hindu traditions, I would just read Vivekananda or Prabhupada and contemplate upon what is said in their books, because philosophies that were presented there were occupying me my whole life.

I recently started Yoga and I'm planning to visit acquaintance who is yoga teacher. He is ex Sai Baba follower and he is not active in any official organisations anymore, but we met online on a thread about yoga practice and he started giving me some advices and recommendations.