Thread: Should I use a Sanskrit, or English mantra when using a japa mala?

Should I use a Sanskrit, or English mantra when using a japa mala?

Blessings all,

I am new to Japa meditation, and I am looking for a mantra to use.

I have used the Hare Krishna mantra, as well as other Sanskrit mantras, and I have also used English mantras.

When using English mantras, such as I am, or Love, or Lord, bless me with your energy, I feel as if I can be more sincere, and more passionate.

When using Sanskrit mantras, I still feel great and still feel devotional, but I do not feel as if I can be as passionate and true since the words are so foreign to me right now. I am assuming this will change with time?

Also, I am not really sure what Sanskrit mantra to use. Is there a more universal one that works for you?

Thank you.

W Tyler

Re: Should I use a Sanskrit, or English mantra when using a japa mala?

Vannakkam WTyler: Traditionally we use Sanskrit, but your post makes a lot of sense to really feel what you are doing. As you may have guessed, there are no hard and fast rules. Sometimes mantra can just be interpreted as 'sound' . The mantra A.U.M for example is said to be the combination of all sound, and as such has no specific English equivalent. Personally, I use Sanskrit in japa, but English in prayer as I feel that the Gods are reading my mind, and since I cannot think in Sanskrit, there is no other choice.

Welcome to these forums, BTW, and just keep doing what you feel is correct.

Aum Namasivaya

Thank you so much, Eastern Mind.

The gods reading your mind is a good way to think of it, and I am sure it will become easier once I am more familiar with the mantras.