Thread: New To Advaita, Help Needed

1. New To Advaita, Help Needed

Little introduction to why and what I will ask -

I am by birth a Brahmo Samajist (in short Brahmo) who are worshipers of Para-Brahman. Brahmo Samaj was founded by Raja Ram Mohan Roy in 1830s. My religion which was based on Upanishads and worship of formless Brahman has disappeared as the older generation (born 1920s died)!! Everyone has migrated abroad or become atheists.

I spent some time belonging to no religion. But I am much too strong believer in God. Being a Brahmo I could not take part in normal puja since Brahmo Dharma prevented idol worship. That is why I feel good in a temple but feel uncomfortable / outsider during puja and aarti.

For a year and half I studied Buddhism intensively. But I found Buddhism to be without God and without self and thus it had to be shelved by me. I cannot accept such a system.

If I am in land of Adavita Vedanta why will I choose Buddhism?

My questions

A ) I am more of a reading books and doing good type of person than a visit temple kind of person. I live in Calcutta and everyone here worships Kali. Though I am fond of Kali, I do not want to spend time worshiping her since I like complex intellectual books. As a Brahmo can I call myself a Vedantin (by definition it seems to be so since Brahmo Dharma is based on Upanishads but no Brahmo has ever called himself so)

B ) I will educate myself by books, books and more books. Calcutta lacks Vedanta teachers. Can a Vedantin teach himself? Between work and reading I do not have any more time.

C ) I am used to Buddhist Samatha (calming) meditation. To change to Hindu meditation does not seem that much change. Can I proceed?